Skip to content

Reviews Vs. Endorsements

January 4, 2011

A photo I took above LA when I took off for home 🙂

This is just a quick video I put together talking about the difference in reviews and endorsements. I know it should be common sense, but it really bothers me how certain people out there do not get the difference and think it’s alright to trash a product and still get paid.

Also, I get to wear my super comfy sweatshirt my mom gave me for Christmas. What can I say right after work I am a creature of comfort, but I promise being my fashion loving self I do wear better clothes during the day…well except today I wore Uggs and I don’t care who thinks they are ugly it’s like rubbing your foot on your dog or cat (You know you’ve done that …don’t judge) Love you all. Now here’s the video…

 

bloglovin

Follow kgal1298 on Twitter

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2011 7:03 am

    Thanks for clearing up the endorsement v. review issue. I am still wondering about one issue, that being disclosure. If one gets paid, it is an endorsement. I get that — but the free sample for a review could have value and if it is a consumable, like the makeup example in your video, do you think that qualifies as a payment for an endorsement? I was thinking it did, but after listening to your video, I’m not so sure now. If the industry (I’m not a marketing person) regularly sends out samples I’m guessing that it is really not something that has to be disclosed. I think that there is a federal FTC rule requiring disclosure if something of value is provided but I can’t say that I’ve ever seen that in blog or youtube.

    I’m not even trying to make money with my blog. Its just something fun I do. And I definitely don’t want tax issues. Jeez. It would cost me more money to have the CPA sort it out than its worth.

    • January 4, 2011 7:15 am

      If the sample is sent for review purposes it should be stated rather than ignored. It’s best to be safe than sorry. Not everyone who get’s free samples will state it because that is not clearly defined by the FTC, but what is defined is that if a product is used for selling purposes or promotions you should always state that. The fact is not all samples are used for promotions so you don’t always have to claim them for tax purposes I believe, though, it’s always best to go over this with an accountant, but for business purposes and promotions you should always tell your audience if you paid for a product or not since it could be seen as deceiving the consumer otherwise.

      One more thing I believe, also, you only have to claim taxes on review items if they equal over a certain amount and for a lot of bloggers and YouTuber’s they do get items for free all the time and it’s best if they just state that on the taxes rather than to face audits. I think the amount has to be over $500.00. It’s the same with gifts this is where Oprah ran into issues with her car giveaway a few years back.

  2. January 4, 2011 11:24 am

    That’s a really cool picture.
    xo from Sweden

Leave a Reply

