Skip to content

The Trends (a perspective)

December 14, 2010

 

I read a lot of fashion blogs each day, but I must say whoever is controlling trends needs to lay off the bloggers. Seriously if I see one more pair of leather pants or leopard printed everything or hell even those dang Lita’s I may scream. I get that brand exposure is important, but I think of these trends like Celine Dions “My Heart Will Go On”, fantastic and joyful epic even, but so over played they become old and boring before they really can ever be appreciated. I guess this is why I like couture chances are your not going to see 20 different bloggers in one day post 5 different variations of it…it’s not possible.

I miss originality which is why I’m a little happy copyright laws are being passed in fashion, sure I can see the negatives of this causing un needed lawsuits, but seriously maybe some of the creativity will come back in the industry, though I doubt it. Either way, remember, when you are doing a blog and you love your new Lita’s you may not want to make them the main topic because how many people are going to want to comment on the same thing they saw 5 seconds ago.

Content is king when blogging, but there is no point in blogging with out the originality and that goes for you style bloggers as well. If you see someone wearing an amazing fur coat and then you go to buy it you better damn well make it your own style or just style yourself in a piece no one else has worn it will most likely win you more favors at the end of the day.

Not that I am completely original all the time, but that’s because I’m honestly just have to get something off my chest even if it has been posted about before. From Miley Cyrus doing Salvia to Rachel Zoe being pregnant to an amazing Runway show by Chanel there are just some thing irresistable, but let’s try to be a little more original my eyes beg to see some creativity don’t yours?

XOXO

Kate

bloglovin

Follow kgal1298 on Twitter 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2010 7:11 am

    Haha. Great unique post. I have been noticing a lot of leopard print and a TON of leather pants/ jeggings these days.

    I loved the images, though!

    šŸ™‚

    Best wishes,

    ~Zabrinah

  2. December 14, 2010 7:00 pm

    you’re SO right

  3. December 14, 2010 9:12 pm

    finally someone is saying what i’m thinking.

  4. Maya permalink
    December 14, 2010 9:58 pm

    So wright. I hate when I see a magazine spread two weaks after it was already published on 3 major blogs, without anything original aded or comment or opinion or SOMETHING… I mean whats the point. why do it? no one is gonna be impressed… Don’t know.

    M

    + + + + + + + + + +
    http://mayabeus.blogspot.com/

  5. chichichic! permalink
    December 16, 2010 3:10 am

    OMG I couldn’t agree more! I posted something about this a little while ago and got so much hate mail! SERIOUSLY! So sick of litas, capes, leather shorts! And if I see one more post on Lanvin for H&M I may scream with you! What’s the point of subscribing to different blogs if all of them are litas, leather leggings and layered leopard on top? UGH! Great post! You’ve got a new subscriber!

  6. December 16, 2010 1:45 pm

    Yeah, you’re so right. I think it’s getting tougher to have true originality. I do love a challenge though. Thank you for a fresh and honest perspective, and inspiring me to do better!

    Maryjane xoxo

Leave a Reply

