Skip to content

Another Day/Another Book

December 1, 2010

(I took these photos the same day I was walking through the fashion district…yeah I am that dorky. Oh! if you are a street style photographer go hang out on the corner of 9th and Hope for a while you will see some great styles.)

Another goal achieved. I told you after I read Kelly Cutrone’s book that I would attempt Tim Gunn next. The Verdict? I would say 6 out of 10 stars. I think there are a lot of great books out there to read and this one where as it had some great lessons didn’t really read like you would have thought from the book’s title. Instead Tim’s Golden Rules derive from life anecdotes, parts of his life which he learned and grew from. In that record it was very much biographical and I think in terms of that alone it really is for only a niche group of people.

Anyone can read a self-help book they are meant for all types, but Biographical means you must have an interest in this person willing enough to learn more about them and I think for him that is a great selling point because really who knows that much about Tim Gunn? Even with his tendency to repeat himself in the book the story’s about his father, coming out, J. Edgar Hoover, and random run events with people such as Martha Stewart and Anna Wintour are worth a read.

Though, I will say as much as he names people he did leave out the name of the designer whom copied people’s work while at school and then years later had his work on the red carpet (I’m curious to who that is). Also, I will note, that he does give some great advice on holding your tongue. I to learned that if something upsets you it’s best to wait it out and cool down before taking action otherwise you never know what that temper will do to you for the worse.

In the mean time I will say Tim Gunn is very straight forward and honest and if you are going to have a role model he is great one. Most people who work in fashion have their hook ups and their “crazies” you learn that people call the mecca of fashion publishers Conde Nast, Conde Nasty because of how employees are treated and if you read this book you will learn a little more about that, but all in all Tim Gunn speaks with common sense more so than others I have run into in this industry. He often talks about the truth behind fashion and I can relate…

I don’t think many people like it when I talk so openly about Marketing because they want to keep their secrets, but really if we can’t find anything better and we can’t evolve from those secrets do we deserve to keep them? That and is anything in fashion really that big of a secret? Google it. It’s all out there. The under paid intern, the late hours, the power-hungry socialites, the marketing ploys, the scams…nothing is a secret so why do we act like it is? Maybe it’s only a secret to those who haven’t learned how to work a search engine yet either way if I have something to say I’ll say it in a way that will leave my dignity in tact.

P.S. I’ll be at this http://divinedesign.org/ tomorrow so no blogging, but hopefully I will get some good photos and if you happen to be in LA  during the 2nd-6th you should partake in the shopping event it’s for a great cause.

bloglovin

Follow kgal1298 on Twitter

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2010 12:19 pm

    makes me want to drink alchoholic beverages

  2. December 4, 2010 12:41 am

    Really interesting book review. I’m not that interested in Tim Gunn, but the run-ins do sound interesting.

  3. December 4, 2010 6:50 pm

    interesting post!!!

    xoxo

    lotteryholly.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

