Skip to content

Walking and Shopping Downtown LA

November 29, 2010

 

One: Still working on the Tim Gunn book Two: I forgot I have an event this week to go to and so had to do some shopping today hence the not finishing the book. Three: LA is kind of dirty (amazing how movies and tv make it look not dirty, but it really is just dirty).

The other day I was walking downtown and testing my new camera out (the quality is much better) and I was taking some photos of the fashion district and such and you notice a few things when your walking downtown. It’s dirty, the architecture is amazing, and the fashion district is insane. What’s interesting is that FIDM is about 3 blocks down from the fashion district and of course everyone knows that’s where Project Runway was filmed out here, but the thing that irks me is that Mood is way on the other side of town. It’s crazy when you think that there is so much fabric just a few blocks away yet production for that show goes all the way to Pico Boulevard past Mid-City just because of its relationship with the show. I don’t know that would annoy me that’s for sure. I also know that on school days you see more students in the fashion district getting fabric so I’m not quite sure how well off Mood fairs being away from that school, but I suppose it is closer to Otis and a few other schools in that area so surely they get business from them.

Also, as I mentioned I had to shop today and picked up these Steve Madden pumps. I think the sales lady was getting sick of me. I tried on 4 pairs of black pumps and 1 pair of electric blue pumps that matched the nail polish you see above. Anyway I am the worst shopper ever it took me about an hour to buy a pair of shoes. Now I tried on BCBG ones, but they were out of 91/2 the size I needed to make sure my toes didn’t get squished (seriously does everyone in this town wear 91/2 shoes) so that was a bust. Then I tried on a pair of Jessica Simpson shoes that were incredibly comfortable, but not the style I needed. Then I had a pair of peep toe glittery ones from Nine West that were comfortable and looked great, but again wasn’t quite the style I wanted. I really wanted a pair I could wear to a lot of different events and so these ones won. Not as comfortable as the Nine West or the Jessica Simpson, but they looked like the BCBG ones only in black and I really love how you can wear them with everything so for me it’s a “win situation.”

Shopping is a frustrating experience for me, but I do love fashion so I guess it’s more of a voluntary torture.

Until next time.

XOXO Kate

bloglovin

Follow kgal1298 on Twitter 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2010 3:41 pm

    I LOVE the nail color!

    So, you didn’t get either pair of shoes in your post? That’s a shame. I really like both of them, and think they would have looked really great on you. 🙂

    • November 29, 2010 6:06 pm

      Oh no I did get the ones shown. I was just saying that those are the ones I ended up going with because it was such a hard decision. I need to work on my explaining skills apparently.

  2. November 29, 2010 8:56 pm

    IT’s soooo GOOD to try on things a thousand times and all the styles…I’m sooo into that..that way you know what’s out there!! Gotta love the shopping torture!!!hhahaha
    kisses
    xoThe Beckerman Girls

    http://www.BeckermanBitePlate.com

Leave a Reply

