Skip to content

Random Photos from FGILA

November 15, 2010

A couple of weeks back I went to Fashion Group International LA’s 75th anniversary event held at the Cabana Club in Hollywood (which by the way is a great locations for a party). The event itself had a party vibe/nightclub vibe which you can probably pick up from the two girls walking around in plastic dresses-which I’m still confused about, but I think what it lacked was fashion and buzz. I hate to be the one who has to say it, but shouldn’t an event celebrating fashion have more fashion to it. Most of the guests were in Forever21 except for LAFashionsnob who was wearing her own creation everyone else was fairly boring…even I who was in H&M, but to be fair I came from work not home.

On the plus side of the event they had Fatburger there with free drinks (alcoholic) and fries and hamburgers, which was amazing because sometimes you go to events and the food is just inedible. They also had Faith Evans perform, but I left before that because it was running late and I had to get home and to bed and of course, as you can see,  paint my nails a lovely silver before doing so.

Overall if you are going to have a party (and trust me I have done a lot of parties) if you can’t get A-C list stars to the event then the press is going to be really low. Instead of focusing on the red carpet I think in events with a limited budget you could invite a lot of local bloggers and Youtubers (Oh yes! There are a lot of Youtubers in LA) to the party and get some gift bags together and overall just get a DJ, maybe some cotton candy and photobooth going and some awesome fashion photos or even a manicurist or makeup artist on hand to give tips and from that alone you would get more press than by just trying to go the celebrity route really. Of course it’s hard to say what the circumstances were surrounding the event since sometimes events like this our curated by someone who doesn’t really know what they want and then they just dictate everything and it can become messy like that. Lesson always have a plan when doing events and make sure you have help from someone who has done them before…it helps tremendously.

And although, I have been to blogger events that had a zero vibe so I think it’s important to start off with things to entice the audience…I don’t care if you have to use a trampoline to do it, but do something to keep them there and entertained and they will listen and probably get the word out for you on whatever it is your promoting.

Events have fine points to them that you really have to focus on otherwise they just fizzle and where as this one had a good vibe I don’t think the press they got was even really worth the cost of it, but that is only my opinion.

 

bloglovin

Follow kgal1298 on Twitter 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 7:45 am

    great pictures ! i really love Fat Burger by the way , hehheh ;P

  2. November 15, 2010 1:24 pm

    Hello,
    I’m glad to see your comment on Tavi’s blog! I love horror and clutch any kind of horror masterpiece.

    Cheers,
    Mina Jade

  3. November 15, 2010 2:28 pm

    I´d really like to assist to this kind of events! I really gope through my blog, I can get invited or something! Thanks for sharing the photos, I loved the tartan twirled-draped skirt.

    THELOVELYSANDOTBLOGSPOTDOTCOM
    step by.

  4. Maya permalink
    November 15, 2010 6:35 pm

    Again a great advice from you. You’re the best for this kinda marketing that is very “now”… 🙂
    love reading you!

    M

    + + + + + + + + + + + + + +
    http://mayabeus.blogspot.com/

  5. November 19, 2010 6:41 am

    The pix turned out great 😉

Leave a Reply

