Skip to content

Mad Respect: Book Review on Kelly Cutrone’s -”If You Have to Cry…”

November 6, 2010

Kelly on Doctor Phil. She Tweeted this little tid but out earlier today: News Flash! I have been signed to @drphil as a Correspondent!! CBS daytime is loving the black – shout out to @drphil MORE 2 COME

I always had this fascination with Kelly Cutrone and I read her book a while ago, but after seeing her on Dr. Phil I thought that I should do a little review here on the book.

Kelly always came across as someone I would respect, albeit very opinionated I could relate because that is how I am stubborn and opinionated (so chances are I could never work with her without wanting to kill her, but I’m like that with everyone…go figure). After reading her book “If You Have To Cry Go Outside: And Other Things Your Mother Never Told You” I respect her even more. The woman worked for what she has and had to face life even when it got rough. I have to say I recommend reading it. It’s one of those books that may not give you huge insight or tips into fashion or what to say at the right time, but it is inspiring.

I know inspirational books can seem bleh, but in all due respect sometimes we need them and this is coming from me and I am probably the number 1 self-help book hater out there, but in this book Kelly can either make you want to take initiative and suck it up or at least feel like your not alone when you hit rock bottom and trust me she did and she hit it bad. Kelly Cutrone doesn’t hold anything back and you get an idea that the woman portrayed on T.V. is the one you will get in real life. Now I don’t want to give too much away on the book itself, but I will share one of my favorite quotes from the book with you:

“The twenties are a time to figure out where you came from and where you’re going, and if you’re lucky, you’re getting closer to these answers by the time you’re thirty. You’ve probably already done everything embarrassing in your twenties, from drugs and binge-drinking to paranoid stalker girlfriend behaviors. Let’s face it, the humiliation of getting a locksmith to help you break into your ex-boyfriends house because you think he’s cheating on you even though you’re not dating anymore can have a lasting and deterrent effect on a person’s psyche.”Kelly Cutrone

Now what girl can not relate to that? Who knows maybe some guys too?

I’m now thinking of reading Tim Gunn’s Book next he seems really sassy and I like that. Do you have any recommendations for a good fashion type of book to read?

Love Kate

bloglovin

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2010 5:03 pm

    Love this review… Am defo gonna read it now. I wasn’t sure would I as i didn’t want it to dissapoint. 🙂

  2. November 6, 2010 6:15 pm

    i read this book and totally loved it!! let me know if you read tim gunns book!

    stayfabulous,
    zarna
    http://www.zarnasrunway.com

Trackbacks

  1. Another Day/Another Book «

Leave a Reply

