Skip to content

Numbers and Bloggers and Brands (A little about the Biz tonight)

November 5, 2010

I know your probably thinking “What does this girl have to say? She hasn’t been blogging long.” Well that is true, but I have been working in marketing and with bloggers like you for a while now and really let’s face it a blog needs a presence to work with brands and brands need the bloggers as well, but how big does your blog need to be before you can do things like this or wear clothes like this or work with brands like this? (The following I pulled for examples only all rights belong to the owners and links are below.)http://www.lululetty.com/


www.modcloth.com

www.forever21.com

http://www.theglamourai.com/

 

Now I will admit I know what it takes to work with some of these bloggers, but I will never disclose what it is they earn or ask for. I will tell you from a branding perspective it’s all about the branding. If you want to be able to work with brands and get amazing chances to do events and contests you need to ask yourself “What is this brand?” and “What is my brand?” you need a voice just like that brand. You can’t sell Rock and Roll to the American Housewife and vice versa.

Now, in terms of numbers it’s true we do look at your numbers is it work us to send you a $100 jacket when you wont garner traffic…no, but some brands will work with you if you show potential. You may only have 50 followers, but if you have what they are looking for then it’s worth a shot to contact them. Who knows maybe you can trade off and write a post for their blog or something and get them to meet you all while building your presence. (Also, this information may be my opinion, but I know some other marketers who do work with bloggers and will ask the same questions “Will this person, this brand work for me?”

It’s about the brand and keeping the message consistant. No need to have huge numbers, but please have some insight before you approach or think about going to an event and think “Would I like to wake up to next to this brand everyday can I live without these shoes or that skirt does this brand resonate with the audience I want to build?” Just keep the questions clear and concise and you will find that you will eventually have the numbers and the branding and the chances you want to work with. (Also, don’t take this just in terms of approaching a brand there are many PR and Rep companies out there that will work with you to get you in touch with brands, but they will scrutinize you so be ready for some judgement if you go this route after all they don’t want brands they work with to get misrepresented by the wrong blog.)

Also, remember viral doesn’t always exist just because someone wants to get as big as Victoria’s Secret doesn’t mean it will happen overnight. You need to work at it and hard and eventually your labor will pay off and then who knows maybe you will be able to blog full time.

One last thing be sure to visit those bloggers they are some of my favorites to read. 😉

Still ❤ KG

 

bloglovin

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2010 12:42 pm

    This is a great post. I actually dont know much about this things as I started only recently so this is a HUGE help… I mean this is basically info from the inside :-))))

    M

    *-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*
    http://mayabeus.blogspot.com/
    *-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*

  2. November 5, 2010 3:44 pm

    i love this!

  3. November 5, 2010 6:35 pm

    Good post. I am going through this same thing. I am trying to figure out how to market my blog and get it out there.

    windowshopz.com

  4. November 10, 2010 8:19 pm

    Great post. Very informational. Most bloggers don’t want to share, we all have our little trade secrets it seems, and none seem too eager to share. I’m glad you did! I’ve been wanting to expand my blog, and this helps!

    Amber
    ambersmouthwash

    • November 11, 2010 2:38 am

      Really I don’t think a lot of it is secret. I just think a lot of people don’t research it. I actually just happen to work for a retail company and would prefer bloggers know some things so that way I don’t have to send the dreaded thanks, but no thanks email. I hate doing it.

Leave a Reply

