Skip to content

A Critique (You Know I Had To)

November 3, 2010

With its playful colors feminine silhouettes and creative commercials Lanvin for H&M is rolling out to be the must have for all the budget fashionistas and label lovers out there, but where as the collection is completely a hybrid of fast fashion and luxury you have to wonder about the quality?

I can’t say the collection is fantastic, but I can’t say it’s horrible either because once more this is simply a hybrid of a great luxury brand becoming reachable to the mass ala Vera Wang, Zac Posen, and Karl Lagerfeld. Perhaps in an attempt to addict people to a brand or because the money was too good to say no to? We will see. For the rest of the photo collections you can visit Refinery29 who posted the first full photos of the collection that I had seen today including the mens pieces (that I found highly boring, but maybe that’s because I don’t do mens fashion).

Love Kate

bloglovin

PS I added video from Carnaval, but I must admit I am horribly at shooting so I accompanied it with Three Dog Nights’ classic Joy To The World to soften the visuals. Enjoy 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2010 11:02 am

    Hm… interesting to say. Everyone is so busy swooning and being excited by something touched by Elbars hand, that they never actually tought is this really so great? But I think that with collaborations like this there is always danger of “watering down”: only question is what comes out of it… Doesn’t neccesseraly have to be bad!
    Tnx for a bit of perspective! 🙂

    M

    • November 3, 2010 4:56 pm

      Thanks I think now I may have to get my hand on a piece just to check quality and fabrication. Usually, I will say I don’t have problems with H&M, but like any Fast Fashion House it does wear out faster than anything high end.

  2. November 3, 2010 9:05 pm

    I like the collection, but I prefer the simple t-shirt designs they did then the dresses. Dunno why, H&M collabs are a bit overrated nowadays.

    Puck // oneofpoints.blogspot.com

  3. November 4, 2010 6:27 am

    Whenever I buy clothes from H&M and Zara they fall apart after a few rounds in the washing machine, but the pieces above are all playful and seductive. Have a sweet day;-)

  4. November 5, 2010 2:23 pm

    Hi, I am new to yoru blog and I love it.

    I have to disagree with you – the Lanvin for H&M collection is gorgeous and I think what these designer houses are doing is really great – how woudl you otherwise afford to wear such nice clothes/ Anyway, just my humble opinion

    Rali

Leave a Reply

