Skip to content

Fashion Rugs or FUGS?

October 14, 2010

The Rug Company is known for doing collaborations with designers and above is the latest designs from McQueen. The project was started three years ago and I knew when I found these photos via FashionMagazine.com I had to make a commentary.

I love McQueen (obviously) but the only rug in this collection I like is the hummingbirds. In the other pieces I find the color lacking where is the opulence that is McQueen? The pillows just don’t look right in anyway perhaps I’m picking and prefer screening and painting techniques as opposed to stitch. I do applaud the craft of it though I’m sure it take’s a while to create rugs like this and with that much of a random and detailed pattern. Especially on the humming birds they look as though they will fly off the ground and around the room.

In the mean time below are some photos of past collaborations including one with Vivienne Westwood, which I adore.

Westwood; Probably one of the best ones. To me the design says Vivienne with its bold design and large flowers. This I could see in a lot of different rooms and I find it very versatile.

MARNI; Again another great design I could see this sitting by the edge of a white or black sofa in an elegant apartment somewhere or even on a wall.

Westwood; I love the flag on this again not very original, but the muted tones make it look like it has been through many wars and goes perfectly with the understated elegance of the room.

Paul Smith another favorite, but honestly I feel like anyone could have done this one. With an array of colors reminiscent of a college dorm room I once had it’s quite a popular design motif I think and not very original.

On a Final note how amazing is this wedge heel? I am waiting till Friday to place my order and thanking god right now I live in a state that doesn’t have snow so I’ll be able to enjoy these for a while. ❤ Kate

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2010 3:31 pm

    i really just want the mcqueen rug. how cool!

  2. October 14, 2010 6:18 pm

    Love the gold skulls.

Leave a Reply

