Skip to content

Let’s Talk About Magic (Fashion Trade Show)

August 23, 2010

If you work in Fashion you know what it is…if not then let me tell you:

Magic is a huge fashion trade show where you have Exhibitors, who show off their clothes in booths that are sometime AMAZING, like Diesels who had an amazing movie theatre theme made out of Old VHS tapes, or sometimes not so amazing like Ed Hardy (actually it wasn’t that bad I just don’t like Ed Hardy) which plastered their logo on whatever they could find, but either way these booths have one purpose, which is to sell to the buyers who attend.

Over all it went over great, but I have to say Polyvore pissed me off. If you are going to do a seminar on Social Commerce, do not just talk about your damn site the whole time. I love Polyvore, but I don’t need to sit through 30 minutes of it. Needless to say I left that one early. Also, there was a booth there that had girls who looked like Playmates dancing on top of a platform in some glitzy looking junk that was not perceived well. Note if you ever open your own line do not have over exposed girls dancing on anything at any trade show. It will get talked about, but not in a good way.

My days there weren’t bad though I got some great ideas and saw some great fashion. I also got into Project, which is another part of the trade show that has brands like Adriano Goldshmied and 6126 and Hard Tail and a lot more. What was amazing is I got a complimentary manicure and haircut.

The hair cut was courtesy of Barracuda in LA you can see their site here. AMAZING. I will load photos later of the hair because the guy who did my hair did a dry cut and he did an amazing job.

Other than that I had a photo fail and because I was there for work did not take my own photos since I thought I would have some to post on my work site, but our guy failed me and now I know to always bring my own camera. I however did scour the internet for a couple of photos of the floor which you can see below. If you have any questions about this massive trade show please ask I would be happy to answer them.

UPDATE!!!

I was able to get the photos of the B***H A** Diesel Booth it was amazing.

🙂

❤ kgal

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2010 8:39 am

    this is cool- i’ve never even heard of it

    sincerely,
    YCM

    • September 3, 2010 4:53 am

      I only heard about it a few years ago. This was my first time going. It’s mainly for brands to show new lines and for buyers to pick up new items. It’s basically like a huge shopping mall, but you can’t really buy anything there since it’s all sample sizes 😦

  2. September 2, 2010 9:09 pm

    sounds like a great time 🙂

Leave a Reply

